Chakra Series. Part one.

Introduction to Chakras

The word Chakra derives from the Sanskrit ( ancient language of India) word ‘wheel’ ‘circle’ and emerged from the thousands of years old Hindu vedas which depict Chakras as energy centres within our subtle body and which receive, transform and distribute universal life force throughout the body. 

Whilst it is most common for us to steer more toward the ancient vedic teachings of India in order to understand more about the Chakra systems, in actual fact, there is evidence of ancient texts from Africa, the Middle East and other areas of Asia. In short, knowledge of our subtle energy centres has been known around the globe for thousands of years. 

There are hundreds of chakras located in and outside of our auric field but, for now, we will concentrate on the seven major chakras of which we are most familiar. These are:

The nature of our mind-body-spirit connection can be understood in terms of the chakra system as chakras form the model of our physical, emotional and spiritual health. Knowledge of how to maintain balance within our chakra systems is key to living a healthier and happier life. When any one of them is spinning with a weak vibration, this can manifest as a physical symptom affecting a particular area of your body, or as an emotional or psychological symptom affecting your outlook. Each chakra rotates in a spiral vibration and at a different frequency; the first chakra ( Muladhara) is the densest energy and therefore vibrates at the slowest frequency, whereas, moving up through the chakra systems to the seventh ( Sahasrara) is of the lightest energy and therefore vibrates at a much faster and more exquisitely refined frequency. 

Root Chakra
Sacral Chakra
Solar Plexus Chakra
Anahata                Heart Chakra

  Throat Chakra
Third eye Chakra
Crown Chakra

Each Chakra has a corresponding element, symbol, colour, musical note, mantra, physical sence, essential oil, crystal, organ of the physical body, emotional aspect of the human experience, astrological sign and planet.

Over the coming weeks, each blog post will cover an in-depth exploration of each chakra in turn, starting with Muladhara. I shall also be expanding on ways of how you can align yourself with Universal life force energy by means of working on balancing each chakra point. In addition to this, I shall be explaining the connection between the marma points of the body (referred to as acupressure points according to traditional Chinese Medicine) and the Chakra points as well as including links to chakra cleansing meditations.

Namaste Beautiful Ones.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s